Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AR Upper?

I'm building an AR. This will be my 1st AR. I get the lower this friday. I already have everything, to complete, the lower. Now its time to start shopping for a stripped upper. Are uppers, like lowers, in that, they are all about the same? ( I'll be getting 5.56/.223) If not, whats the difference? What would you recommend? I like the YHM upper. Any pro's or con's with them? Do I really need a fwd assist? I'm a complete AR noob. Any info you can give me will be appreciated.
    It was like that when I got here.

Fwd assist was created to jam the incoming round past any excessive carbon deposits hardened by the heat from full auto bursts. The gas operated action of the AR design lends itself to getting really dirty in the bolt carrier group and chamber. They are extremely reliable as long as you don't cover the ejection port with your hand. Some people will tell you that they have to be so tight between the upper and lower that a press is required to get them together. Not true. Just be sure you have good technique and hold it tight. I qualled expert evry time at the range with one that had 1/4" slop. The fact that they build six ponds of carbon in the chamber just by looking at the trigger is the only reason I don't own one.
    God forgives, rocks don't
    -sons of thunder

Comment