Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Replacing my rear springs- how do I... ?

Collapse

Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TJ: Replacing my rear springs- how do I... ?

I broke a rear spring recently, and the MFR is sending me out two new ones so that I match (and this is after their warranty expired - AEV is totally cool). I've never done a spring swap before. It seems pretty straightforward, but last time I thought that, I ended up in the hospital. So....

What is the process?

Tools I have:
    1. 48" HiLift jack
    2. 3 ton sears floor jack (only goes up about 19" or so), with two jack stands
    3. Bunch of ratchet straps
    4. Basic (barely!) household tools

Do I need a spring compressor?
    What is the best way to get my rear end way up there so that I can swap in new springs?

Here is the culprit:
    Off road adventure photography:

TreadLightly Trainer
    Wilderness First Aid (WFA)
    HAM - KI6PFO

2005 Rubicon Unlimited + trailer

Is this on your tj or jk? it should be similer install on both. If so its easy but I wouldn't use the high lift unless you have too. If those springs failed like that I would think twice about using them again. Unless they assured you the problem was corrected.
    1)block the front wheels.
    2) crawl underneath and disconnect the lower bolts on the shocks and let them hang, might have to disconnect to sway bar from the links too.
    3) jack it up under the pumpkin and put jack stands under frame and remove tires and then lower jack letting suspension hang. NOTE: Make sure the vent hose is disconected from the diff and any brake or air lines are not being stretched.
    4) remove the bumpstops on the inside of the spring an pull the springs out (should be easy looking at them)
    5) shoove new springs in,might need spring compressor ( i didnt with 4 inch currie spring) I used a pry bar
    6) put back on in reverse order