Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newish jeep owner and new Rubicon

Well, the title is kinda self explanatory. I'm new to the whole Jeep world, but I've built a couple offroad trucks/jeeps in my short life time of 25 years. Bought this rubicon when I was home on leave (stationed at ft. Irwin, Ca) back in NC and drove it to California. Will be slowly building a mild rubicon, I don't plan on going bigger than 35s. Went on my first wheeling trip up in Cleghorn and had a blast. Here are a couple pics from that run that I've taken a liking to.

I'm really happy with the jeep so far, it has already gone well past my expectations, but I am surprised you can rub the swaybar with stock wheels and tires on stock suspension on a rubicon. I think I might have a good plan as far as my suspension goes. Plan on just a stock mod 2.5 RK lift and some long travel bilsten shocks and front sway bar disconnects for the time being. I'll add the beefy rear track bar, and x-factor upper and lower arms later on down the road. I do want to experiment with the rear swaybar and using disconnects on it. After I get my tax return I do plan on buying some 15x8 steelies and some 35x12.50 procomp extreme MTs. I know most people don't run them but the siping in the tread looks like it should do good on the rocks out here in California.
    While I'm stationed on the west coast I do want to go wheeling on the Rubicon, Hammers, Hungry Valley, Moab, and Big Bear. Most those places I read about all through middle school/highschool and now I'm so stoked I've got a very capable stock rig that can handle those trails somewhat. So can't wait to take some flex pics on the steps at Hungry Valley lol.