Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jeep Newb looking for guidance and direction on a '74 CJ5 Restore

To introduce myself, name is Cory. To be flat honest I'm not much of a grease monkey but I've always wanted to work and piddle around with older vehicles. Well the time has come, this will be my first restore. My grandfather has a '74 CJ5 that he put a lot of time and effort to restoring about a decade ago. He loaned it out to his son who drove it till it stopped running and never touched it again, basically set up collecting rust. Sad I know. I want to restore this jeep. My grandfather lives on social security now and although he wants to work on it, he doesn't have the money so I figured I'd set a budget of about $5k to start with and it would give me and my Paw a project to work on together.

That being said.... I have a build set up as far as paint wheels tires etc. But I'm not good with engines. I know he said the engine in a Straight 6 and needs some TLC possibly a rebuild. I'm not really looking to upgrade to a bigger engine but rather ideas of what I can do to for this V6 to make it run like a champ. What upgrades, add-ons, exhaust options, carbs, ANYTHING you guys can think of and/or recommend, I plan on spending a lot of time here maybe you guys will learn me a little something. Oh also looking to put a some lift under it, what brand do you guys prefer. All I want is to comfortably fit some 33's should I go with a body lift or suspension lift?

Sorry for the long post. Thanks in advance for any input, it will be appreciated greatly.

Cory J

Well Cory, welcome to MJR!