Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Privacy on the web

As you probably know, Google and the other major search engines keep track of every search as well as purchases you make on the internet. The government could easily obtain this information.

In case you are interested, http://www.startpage.com/ state they do not keep any records of searches made on their search engine.
    Last edited by Roger; 08-11-09, 06:27 AM.
    SBCO Fire Dept. CERT volunteer
    MJR moderator
    MJR Adopt-a-Trail Crew member
    Jeep Patrol Leader
    Reforestation Supervisor
    Licensed Ham - n6ujm
    Eagle Scout

The only way to have privacy on the web is to not use the web.

Silly...

As a SysAdmin, I can tell you that I own EVERY bit of traffic that passes through one of my servers. All of it. Every email, every form field element that gets passed through, every bit of data that is stored on my machines. I own it, and I could do just about anything I wanted to with it, but of course I don't. That would be unethical. For that same reason, I don't read people's email as it passes through my SMTP server. But I could, and it would be legal.

People don't seem to get this simple fact.

People should also understand (but often don't) that every single thing you do on a company PC becomes the sole property of the company you work for. So, for example, if you have a sudden inspiration and write the next Great American Novel, but you do it on your work PC, that book is the Legal property of the company you work for, and they can do whatever they want with it.

Privacy on the internet...hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

No such thing.
    '96 XJ, HP D30 front, XJ D44 rear, Lockright/E-Locker, 4.56's, Cobra CB, 33" Pro Comp xTreme MT's, SYE, Smittybilt XRC10 winch with Synth Rope, mutt lift.

Comment

I agree that privacy is something that isn't possible on the internet.