Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some DSLR advice.

Ok guys i am a super newbie in the DSLR world but I am finally going to pull the trigger.

I know that there are alot of MJR member's that are way more knowledgeable on this than i am. I think I have Narrowed it down to two options that will fit into my budget.

option one- Canon - EOS Rebel T3i 18.0-Megapixel DSLR

or

option two- Nikon - D3100 14.2-Megapixel Digital SLR

I am leaning toward the Canon mainly because i have had issues with Nikon cameras in the past.

Any advice on these units would be great thanks guys!!!!
    [COLOR="YellowGreen"]"You cant fit 2 fingers in my tailpipe"[/COLOR]

Honestly, either camera will probably be plenty for you.

What I would do is go to a camera store and ask to see both cameras, Nikons and Canons feel alot different. Just take a few minutes and hold them, try the buttons, look through the viewfinder and take a few shots (even if there's no card, just pretend like there is). Just get a feel for them, see which one you like the feel of better.

There are some differences other than just feel and construction. For example the Canon has a main dial (for changing shutterspeed, and so on) with your index finger, where the Nikon has that dial by your thumb instead. So there's some differences in button placement as well.

If you want my opinion, I think the Nikon bodies in general feel a bit better. Granted I've not held any of the latest line of cameras, I doubt they have changed that much. But I shoot canon when I'm shooting DSLR, because of the lenses I have (I can mount almost anything onto a Canon camera with adapters, not so with Nikon cameras) But give them both a try and see which you like better.

Image quality wise, I doubt either of the cameras will fall below expectations. And if you don't already have any lenses, I'd just go with which ever one feels better to you.