Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post Processing Workflow

those are also very nice photos. now, lets talk about post processing a bit.
    you both appear to be pretty good at it.
    it would be interesting to see the original as a raw converted to jpeg side by side with the processed photo as a jpeg with a description of what you did to process it and with what software.

i am new to the whole post processing thing, and there is a lot to learn.
    i have noticed that adding blacks, and bumping up the clarity helps a lot.

what are you doing to the majority of the photos you take?

we might have to start a new thread on this subject, but i'd like to see if there is some interest, and if we can get a real dialogue on the subject. let loose of some of those secrets!
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    ERIK

95 yj, locked lifted, and ready to rock!

A new thread maybe. I don't shoot RAW. Personally I've tried for years and everytime I've processed the RAW vs JPG the final JPG wins out when for looking for the "realistic" image. Plus as much as I shoot the workflow required for a RAW file is just too time consuming. Everyone has their own opinion on this, this is just mine. Plus as much as I shoot I'd need way more HD space then I have. Also I had my backup 250gb drive fall off my desk, well I lost many years of photos, unless I wish to pay $2000 to retieve them. At least most of my best shots are somewhere online at least in 1200 pixel format. Enough rambling.
    Thanks, Dave
    http://photographersnature.com

Comment

Yes, a new thread would be good. I shoot almost always in RAW, unless I'm just chronicling an event and not figuring on capturing that special, glorious, life changing image.

My workflow is to start in the camera. I shoot almost all my outdoor stuff in Aperture priority to control depth of field, and -1/3 exposure to prevent blowing out the highlights, and ISO 100 for maximum color depth and minimal grain.