Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CJ: moving leaf spring shackle mounts

So I'm new to leafsprings (and still probably quite green on suspension in general!) I've got some radial tires on the little CJ, and it rides quite alot better, the little bumps are taken care of! Larger bumps (and a bit of bucking) are still present, which I guess is a factor of short wheel base, and stiff springs. I really like the stance of the jeep, I don't want to go too much higher. 1 or maybe 2 inches taller would be ok. I think 3 would be a bit much.

My next step to getting something a bit softer for daily driving (and potential long trips!) Is to get longer leaf springs, I've been looking at the Holbrook long leaf setup. Which adds about 3" of height, and moves the inside spring mounts closer together (more towards the center of the jeep), and I guess generally leaves the outside mounts alone. But by all accounts is quite soft and flexy.

So anyway, I was under the jeep looking around, and since I'd have to put new spring mounts on for the inside mounts, I don't see any reason why I couldn't move the front shackle mount of the front springs forward about 2 inches, and the rear shackle mount of the rear springs back about 2 inches. That would be 4 more inches of wheel base, without having to stretch the body (I may need to trim the inside supports of the rear fender wells, and a cut a notch in the front and rear bumpers, but that's no problem).

And while I was looking at the shackle mounts, it looks like there is room to actually use a shorter shackle mount, I could probably use a shackle mount that is 1" shorter, and still have room for the shackles to rotate properly. At least I think so. This would lower the effective lift amount by a little bit.