Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Give me the good, the bad, the ugly of suspension lifts?

Collapse

Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JK: Give me the good, the bad, the ugly of suspension lifts?

I'm new to Jeep modifications but have a 2007 JK 4D and am looking to purchase a 3 or 3 1/3 inch long arm susp lift kit. I have had so many mixed reviews my head is spinning. I hear Pro Comp and then some say Pro Junk...I hear go SkyJacker then next thread says SkyCrapper...etc etc etc

What I want: I want a smooth highway ride as well as capable of doing moderate off-roading. I really like my factory ride and dont want to lift it and say "well now it rides like a jeep"! Is there a durable best-of-both-worlds? i want this to last so I dont mind spending the money to get a good setup but also dont want to spend a fortune(oxymoron I am aware lol). Any and ALL advise would be greatly appreciated.

My experience with the '07 JKU was that the nose-down rake made it slightly uncomfortable. Jeep tried to make a car-like ride by putting super soft springs and shocks in it. Any bump slapped the axle on the bump stop and it rocked back the opposite way and slammed on the bump stop on the other corner. It was miserable. I got a 2 1/2" Pro-Comp take-off for $50 on C/L. The heavier springs and shocks make it a different animal all together. It still has a bit of the nose-down, but it doesn't hit the bump stops any more. The back is a bit stiff - even with a hard top. Stock springs with spacers and a good set of shocks may be the way to go on the back.