Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to wheelin, need some help.

Hello everyone, I just bought a 97 wrangler sport (4.0) automatic, 44000 miles, very good condition for $9500. Ive always wanted one, and finally got it. I've been riding quads for many years, and know some trails in my area, so me and my buddies hit the trails the day after i got it. Its a lot of fun I just have some questions.
    -I bought an automatic, I have driven a standard car for years, and wanted a standard wrangler, but couldnt find what I was looking for with a standard tranny (in my area they all had alot more miles than i wanted) so i said oh well and went with the auto trans(very impatient). Anyways, is it safe to be offroading like every weekend with an automatic transmission? I know the manual is made for it, but am I putting too much stress on the tranny 4 wheelin all the time in mud and on mountain quad trails? Is the wranlger sports auto tranny capable and made for the abuse from off roading? or do you think i will have a broken tranny soon?
    -Also, I've been going through some deep puddles, and have been very tempted to go through some streams, I see some wranglers in pics that look pretty much stock going through water thats up to their hood, with NO snorkel!?!? Its confusing me, wouldnt the water get in the air filter or something? How deep can I go with a stock wrangler sport?