Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need lift advice for 03 Sahara

I’m new to off-roading; a real greenhorn (sorry in advance if my thinking or terminology is off). I got my first Jeep (‘03 Sahara w/ 4.0 L, auto trans, In-line 6, 39K miles) this July. Love off-roading in the many mountainous trails in/around NE Tenn. Would like to lift but am a bit blown away right now with all the things to consider…

I expect to be going on off-roading day trips (~3-5 hrs of decently difficult mountainous trails every third or fourth weekend). What repercussions would I need to consider when lifting 3 inches? (driveline angles, axle gearing adjustments, overall handling and smoothness of ride, etc.) Also, what size tires at this height lift would be the biggest I should go to while keeping the stock 15” x 9.50” wheels? At what tire size should I expect rubbing fenders/wheel wells without modifying axles, getting new wheels, adding spacers, etc.? How would a 3” lift coupled with the largest recommended tire affect the life of my transmission? Also, would I need to consider making any adjustments to the transmission and axle gearing? Hopefully I’m worrying about way too much stuff at only a 3” of lift…but you never know.

I’ve heard that pretty aggressive off-roading with body lifts leads to the body shifting around on the frame. Should I avoid body lifts because of this?

Can you give me any personal experience feedback or opinions on different combinations of budget boosts, body lifts and lift kits? If the downside of body lifts and budget boosts are not too bad, I might consider either or both with a shorter lift kit (expense is my main consideration in this line of thinking)

I’m also seeing options such as brake line extensions, transfer case shifter linkage relocation brackets, anti-sway bar disconnects, etc. – more options I need to consider, huh…