Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time to start offroading again.

So after a couple of years of unemployment and now being on the job for over a year now, I want to start taking the Jeep out again. Since it's my DD I needed to be careful with it while being unemployed. My TJ is lifted and has been since 2006 and I want to know what kind of maintenance is needed for a lifted a Jeep. Aside from the rearend that grenaded(freak of nature and still don't know how it happened) being fixed, oilchanges and regular maintenance, is there any suspension maintenance that needs to be done? I ask because when I got the Jeep, the first 4 years I had it I was taking her offroad at least once a month and now it's been a couple of years since I've been on a trail. I'm no mechanic so I apologize for this basic question.
    2004 TJ X
    Callsign: KJ6DHG

For one thing the reason the dana 35 rearend blew up is because they are really weak. Seen about 5 on different jeeps break on different trails (ALL BROKE AXLES). What lift do you have on your jeep?

Comment

There is an RE 3.5 lift on it. Some bolt that usually never gets loose was the culpret and as time went on, it blew. No offroading was involved because I had not been offroad in over a year. Mechanic says he's not seen anything like it. I was wanting to do D44 on front and on rear but I had just started a new job and had to get the Jeep running ASAP.
      2004 TJ X

Comment

Be real careful with the Dana 35. My spiders exploded on a paved road.
        God forgives, rocks don't
        -sons of thunder

Comment

Typical. 35's suck. The RE arms have a johnny joint on one side so you need to pump a few of grease in them about every oil change. Not sure how old your kit is but RE now has daystar making new poly urethane bushing for the other side of the arm that are suppose to last alot longer I highly recomend getting those.

Comment