Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• YJ: Power steering pump rebuild.

My power steering pump was making a lot of noise last weekend. Also it was taking twice the effort to turn the wheel then it should. It would do fine in 2wd but really suffered in 4wd. The front Aussie isn't helping I'm sure. I ordered a pump rebuild kit from PSkits.com. I really like to be able to do this stuff myself but I have never done a PS pump before. Any one else done this? Seems like the way to go. Its only a few seals and its about $50 cheaper than buying the rebuilt pump from Napa. Insight would be appreciated but like I said, I ordered the kit already. So success or failure ill post my results.
    How hard could it be?

Also I will be putting a cooler in so I don't have to do this again next summer.
    Those left standing
    Will make millions
    Writing books on ways
    It should have been
    -Incubus "Warning"

Well the seals will keep the oil in but if the pump is cavitating it will not do anything for it. Cavitating means the oil slips by the pump vanes and that creates a lot of hear and foams the powersteering fluid. When that happens it's time for another pump or new guts for the pump

Comment

I found a PDF on line on how to do this. Can't seem to locate it now. I downloaded it and can send it to you if you would like. I just swapped out my reservoir can which was very easy.
      Check out .

Comment

Chuck if you find that PDF I would like to see it. I have never seen any foam in my PS but it does get hot. The fluid is dark and mukry so maybe the fluid is just cooked. I hope the pump is still good enough to rebuild. I guess for $15 it is worth a try.
        Those left standing
        Will make millions
        Writing books on ways
        It should have been
        -Incubus "Warning"

Comment