Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wear safety glasses

I'm an aircraft mechanic so i should know better BUT like a noob i got bit tonight.

After several months of procrastination I finally went into the garage and fixed 2 stupid nutserts that hold my crossmember on the jeep. normally on a shortarmed tj, it wouldnt be a biggie. I dont have a shortarm.. What a PITA!~

Anyways, i had to pull both left lower arms off the skid, remove the skid and brackets, grind off the welds on the nutserts and get em out(EASIER SAID THAN DONE), theN weld new ones in and re-install.

all was going amazingly well and fast..

got to the welding and about 1/2 way through a cherry went into my shoe.. #$#@$, i reached in and pulled/threw it out. need i say that it burned the shiet out of my finger and ankle bone..

then after i got it all back together after about 2 hrs (lol) i was on my back using a 1/2 rachet and a wrench to tighten some bolts. NO SAFETY GOGGLES. the rachet slipped off the bolt head and it fell with force right into my left eye. i let out a primal scream, more due to the suprise and pain... didnt hurt after about 4 seconds.. close call. put on the safeties. then about 3 minutes later my eye was itchy so i took off the glasses and i rubbed my under eye area. my hand was full of blood. GREAT. i go inside to see it and i had split my "bags under the eye" wide open. great. peroxide, bandaid and finished the job. debating if i need stitches but prob. not..

anyways .. lesson of the day children... WEAR YOUR SAFETY GOOGLES.
    1st batch TJ bought August of 96. Locked and Loaded!

This sounds like something that would happen to me!

I'm going to share this story with my staff at the next safety meeting!!
    SBCO Fire Dept. CERT volunteer
    MJR moderator
    MJR Adopt-a-Trail Crew member
    Jeep Patrol Leader
    Reforestation Supervisor
    Licensed Ham - n6ujm
    Eagle Scout

Comment