Collapse

Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making a Rubicon LJ on 35's Streetable?

I'm a total newb, so I may be asking a few stupid questions, but I could really use some answers to these basic questions, so if you have some insight, please share it!

I'm about to buy a 2005 Rubicon Unlimited that currently has a Currie 4" lift and 1" body lift and 35" ProComp XTerrian 315/75/16 tires on it. We will be off roading this rig considerably, but we need to drive it to our destinations. Currently, it is pretty sluggish on the side streets we test drove it on and we are not even sure if it can get up to highway speeds.

It has the stock Rubicon gearing with the NV241 Rock-Trac transfer case (4:1 ratio) with Dana 44 axles w/ air-actuated Tru-Lok differentials at I believe a 4.10:1 ratio.

I have also driven a nearly identical rig (same stock driveline) but with 33" MT Baja Claw tires, and it felt much more capable of highway speeds and had significantly more power off the line.

So my question is, if we keep the 35" tires, what is the magic gear ratio that I should be looking at to give it a bit more ooommph on the street and drive at highway speeds? How will this degrade off road performance? (or will it?). From what I've read online, it seems that somewhere between 4.56 and 4.88 is the ideal ratio.

With 35's on it, will it ever drive as well as the jeep with 33's in terms of power/speed range? If I opted for 33" tires in the future, would 4.88 gearing still be okay?

Will the factory lockers complicate changing gears? or is that not affected?

And finally, what is the expected cost range to have the rig re-geared, assuming I have a shop do it (such as John at All4Wheel)?

Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by nwoods; 04-20-08, 04:01 PM.
    Off road adventure photography:

TreadLightly Trainer
    Wilderness First Aid (WFA)
    HAM - KI6PFO

2005 Rubicon Unlimited + trailer