Forum Thread First Post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JK: Caster and T Cases

Okay, so most of you know that I'm not really a mechanical guy. Honestly, I'm a bit of a dumb arse when it comes to mechanical things above changing oil, tires, bolts, etc. My T Case recently blew up. Like chunks of T Case housing laying on the interstate. From everything I'm reading online it has to do with my Caster not being set properly and causing a driveline vibration that eventually cracks the T Case resulting in this catastrophic failure.

I took the Jeep to Chrysler to get it covered under warranty (bought it "Certified Pre Owned) but they of course immediately stated "it's been off road and has aftermarket components, we aren't covering it". But that is an entirely different discussion that I will save for when I have more time to thoughtfully complain about MOPAR.

My question is: How difficult is it to set up the caster to ensure my pinion is pointed properly at the T Case. Depending upon how insurance (from when I flopped it and got a warranty on that work) decides to handle this I'm either SOL and going to have to buy an Atlas myself (not cool with a baby coming) or I'm probably going to end up with a new Rubi T Case. I'd really like to ensure that I have everything set up properly on this thing to avoid this in the future.

Thanks in advance folks.
    USMC F&AM

It's just not that hard to set up the caster. with the weight on the wheels and the driveshaft removed i put a broomstick from the pinion to the T case yoke. Then I adjust the upper control arms till the pinion yoke aims right at the T case.
    If you don't have adjustable uppers, you could adjust only the lowers but the axle will move a bit (which is uaually OK).
    Now a couple other questions..
    1. did you have a stock front driveshaft? how many miles? was it worn out?